How are wedding suppliers coping with the current health crisis? Part three.

This is the final part of my epic blog post featuring wedding professionals and how they are coping with the current crisis. So last but not least here is EJ from https://buckinghamsonline.com/.

I get the majority of my weddings from Buckinghams wedding fairs with https://prestwold-hall.com/ being  a particular favourite of mine.

How has Covid-19 affected your business and how have you managed the inevitable postponements?

The wedding industry, and subsequently our wedding fair business, have come to a standstill. Events already in the calendar have been postponed and sadly we lost the opportunity for several summer events which were in discussion at the time of lockdown. Obviously we have no idea when events will be given the green light to go ahead, or indeed whether those events will be subject to additional restrictions. All we can do right now is watch as the situation unfolds and follow the Government directive. Life will eventually get back to normal and we’ll be ready to jump in when it does. We have our social media channels and websites  https://buckinghamsonline.com/ and  https://www.eastmidlandsweddings.co.uk/. Our 20,000 plus followers are still accessing the supplier and venue information online and there’s plenty of inspiration to keep them going.

What are you doing to keep your business healthy during the lockdown?

Most people in the wedding industry will admit their usual workload doesn’t allow much opportunity for R&R so I’ve taken some time to refresh and renew. A small business is only as healthy as its workers. Stepping away from my business and looking inwards is always enlightening. I generally do this at least every six months but now is the perfect time to give the business a thorough deep clean. I’m busy clearing away the deadwood ready for new growth, discussing new ideas and potential projects. For over a year I’ve wanted to reorganise the files on my Mac but not had the time. I suggest everyone uses this opportunity to crack on with their 2019-2020 accounts too – don’t leave it until January. Get it done now and spend Christmas smugly patting yourself on the back!

What advice would you give to others to keep themselves motivated and optimistic during lockdown?

I’m positive by nature but like everyone I have down days. I notice these tend to happen when I’ve been fixated on the news. My Grandad used to say ignorance is bliss, and he was right. Although it’s important to stay informed, we owe it to ourselves to turn off the news and social media for a couple of days and focus on our own space. No one person can heal the world but we can nurture our own small space within it. Distancing ourselves from things far and wide and focusing on things closer to home gives perspective. Reconnect with your corner of the world. Get your house in order and clear out the clutter. They say a change is as good as a rest. I find rearranging the furniture is very cathartic, much to the annoyance of my husband. Use your exercise ration to find hidden footpaths and unknown walks you’ve yet to discover on your doorstep. We discovered a row of shops in our village we never knew existed! I’m a big believer in learning new skills and educating oneself. There’s a wide range of free courses available online covering pretty much any subject you can imagine. Write that book, paint, draw, create, grow, learn. Whatever you do, don’t sit around and mope. Worrying won’t change anything. Focus your energy and mind on the things you can change, not the things you can’t.

This pandemic has given many people the opportunity to reassess goals and ambitions when the world gets back to normal , what will your goals be moving forward (can be business or personal)?

I’m writing a screenplay. Every writer is proficient at finding excuses not to write but at the moment excuses are few and far between. I’ve recently started John August’s #writesprint. Quite simply I shut the door, turn off the phone and write non-stop for at least 60 minutes. It’s a daily discipline I plan to continue. Inevitably there are times when I want to bunk off and watch a movie so I just claim it’s research – which in essence it is! I’ve recently completed another writing course and I’m planning to launch a new personal blog. Before the lockdown I was invited to speak at a business group. I’ve also had an increasing number of enquiries for business advice and consultation so I’m developing this service alongside copy writing and website editing. I read a wonderful quote the other day by Gloria Steinem “Writing is the only thing that when I do it, I don’t feel I should be doing something else.” That pretty much sums it up for me. Staring at a blank page is terrifying but it’s the place where I feel most comfortable in my own skin. I’m focussed on creating a work/life balance that’s been missing from my life. Our lives were whizzing by before. I’ve noticed the days pass more slowly now. Time is so fleeting and life is so precious. My personal goal is to stop and smell the roses.

 

This is an image from one of the many weddings I have been booked through Buckinghams wedding fairs at https://prestwold-hall.com/.

Bride and groom in gardens of Prestwold Hall

 

Next lets meet Jenny and Emma from https://www.flower-barn.co.uk/

I have photographed many weddings with Flower Barn particularly at https://www.charlottehouselincoln.com/ and https://www.hemswellcourt.com/.

How has Covid-19 affected your business and how have you managed the inevitable postponements?

Covid-19 has affected us because the majority of our work is weddings. Our brides for April, May and June have all had to postpone their weddings until next year. Logistically this is causing a condensed period of weddings therefore restricting the available dates for next year.

We have tried to be has accommodating as possible because this has been a stressful time, not only for us but for our couples as well.

What are you doing to keep your business healthy during the lockdown?

To keep our business as healthy as possible we have tried to keep a presence on social media and Google. We have continued to do appointments via FaceTime and phone calls, this has allowed us to talk to new brides and answer queries for existing brides.

Our Floristry work has been able to continue but with funeral work only. This has still been challenging because there are still limitations on deliveries and supplies.

What advice would you give to others to keep themselves motivated and optimistic during lockdown?

One thing we have found that keeps us optimistic is a nice gin and tonic. Seriously though we have found optimism, all of our brides have postponed and not cancelled. We have still been able to generate work for next year and to use this gift of time to prepare and plan for the future of our business. We have been able to step off the treadmill for a while, this has allowed us to reflect on our company and look at ways in which we can improve. We both feel that we must try and have time off, this allows us to regenerate and this can only be of benefit to our business.

This pandemic has given many people the opportunity to reassess goals and ambitions when the world gets back to normal , what will your goals be moving forward (can be business or personal)?

Sometimes when you are busy you stay with what you know. This gift of time has allowed us to think of new ideas both professionally and personally.

Please everyone stay safe and well but also try to stay positive for the future.

Flower Barn beautiful bouquet at Hemswell Court

Jenny and Emma xx

Well thats all from this post, please do give any of these suppliers a call if you need anything for your wedding you are planning, they are all the best in the business.

Thanks

 

Paul

About masseyphotography

freelance wedding, pregnancy and new born photographer based in Lincolnshire.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment